Rumblings – Where do I go from here?


The age old Artists questions.

 

Is my art good enough to sell?

Is it good enough to sell in the quantities I need to live?

How do I go about marketing my prints?

Where do I sell prints successfully online?

As you can tell, I love my art, but is that where it should stay? I want to share my work with the world, but need to dedicate more time. Is it feasible, or even good enough, for me to dedicate more time, to the detriment of my ‘day job’ and still have an income? I only earn around £700 per month, so it is not a huge amount, but needed all the same.

I am sure I am not the only person that has asked themselves this question, and am sure I wont be the last.

 

Any ideas of how to market my work, or wether to just keep it as a hobby greatly appreciated.

3 thoughts on “Rumblings – Where do I go from here?

  1. I’m in no position to really offer a comment here, but I’m going to anyways because I’ve recently been asking myself the same questions…

    I’d say a good place to start marketing your work is right here. Keep posting your photographs, update this blog, add a blogroll to link to blogs that you’ve found that you like to look at, and take the time to comment on other people’s posts. So basically, do what WordPress says to do to generate more interest in your own blog. This is free. That’s basically free advertising. Once you build up followers, generate a good amount of hits per day, and people show a general liking for your art, maybe put together and etsy account and begin selling photographs relatively cheap. This will at least get your work out there more. At least this is what I’ve recently been thinking about my own work.

    I say this without knowing how old you are, how long you’ve been a photographer, whether or not you consider yourself a professional, and I mean no disrespect at all. I consider myself an amateur photographer (its something I have self-taught, and only ever done as a hobby to document my travel experiences) but lately I’ve seen some more interest in my photographs than I ever really imagined. This is why I’ve been thinking about what I typed above, afterall, who doesnt want to generate at least a little extra money on the side (to start) if someone likes a photograph enough to purchase a print. But yeah, I’d start right here with this blog. Get this rolling, and go from there.

    Have you come up with other ideas about marketing, selling, etc? I’d love to hear.
    Nate

    • Maybe you could donate some of your work to a hospital or library where people might see it and ask where they can purchase it.
      One time I went to this restaurant and an artist donated photographs to decorate the womens restroom. He had a little basket with business cards. I thought that was a great idea. He make 8×10 prints and framed them and screwed them into the wall so they couldn’t be removed.

Leave a Reply

